India Govt. Renames Havelock, & Other Two Island In Andamans.

Rate this post

Swaraj Dweep Havelock Island: Narendra Modi, The Prime Minister of India, has changed the name of three islands of Andaman and Nicobar on 30.12.2018. It was the day 75th anniversary of the Tricolour hoisting by Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose here at Port Blair. So, the Ross Island Modified in Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island. Neil Island Modified in Shaheed Dweep. And Havelock Island Modified in Swaraj Dweep. The government has changed the name of three islands due to pay respect to Netaji Subhas Chandra Basu.

Havelock Island - Sea Beach of Havelock Island

Because, On December 30, 1943, Bose hoisted the national flag at Port Blair’s Gymkhana Ground (currently Netaji Stadium). It is the first land of liberated from British rule. It during World War two it has done after the capture of Japanese islands. At that time, Bose accused that the name of the Andaman and Nicobar will Shaheed and Swaraj.

Leave a Comment